Memory FAQ

Learn more about managing your memories in ChatGPT.

Updated over a week ago

We have rolled Memory out to ChatGPT Plus, Team, and Enterprise users, except for those located in Europe and Korea. We are working on making Memory available to all users.

Make responses with your chats more helpful

ChatGPT can now remember details between chats, allowing it to provide more relevant responses. As you chat with ChatGPT, it will become more helpful – remembering details and preferences from your conversations. ChatGPT’s memory will get better the more you use ChatGPT and you'll start to notice the improvements over time. You can teach it to remember something new by chatting with it, for example: “Remember that I am vegetarian when you recommend a recipe.” To understand what ChatGPT remembers just ask it.

You’re in control of ChatGPT’s memory. You can reset it, clear specific or all memories, or turn this feature off entirely in your settings. If you’d like to have a conversation without memory, use Temporary Chat.

How does memory work?

Memory works similarly to Custom instructions, except that we’ve trained our models to update the memories rather than requiring users to manage them. That means that when you share information that might be useful for future conversations, we’ve trained the model canto add a summary of that information to the notepad. Like custom instructions, memories are added to the conversation such that they form part of the conversation record when generating a response.

The model has been trained to also manage memories, including by intelligently updating pre-existing memories, consolidating memories where appropriate, and forgetting memories when instructed by the user.

How do I enable or disable memory?

Memory is on by default. You can turn it on or off at any time by toggling the Memory setting under the Personalization section of Settings:

Turning Memory off does not clear your memories, and deleting a chat doesn’t erase memories remembered from that chat. You can tell ChatGPT to forget memories conversationally or by clicking Manage.

How do I view or clear my memories?

To understand what ChatGPT remembers you can ask it. ​

You can also view specific memories by selecting Manage in the Personalization section of your Settings.

You can clear an individual memory by clicking on the trash can icon next to the memory, and select Clear in the pop-up modal.

All memories can be cleared at once by clicking on the Clear ChatGPT’s memory button on the bottom-right of the Memory management modal, and confirming by selecting Clear memory in the pop-up modal.

When Memory is on, you can also directly ask ChatGPT to forget something.

Please note that memories cannot be restored after they are cleared. However, you can recreate a previous memory after it has been cleared.

How do I manage my memory storage?

When your memory is almost full, you can check your memory storage usage by navigating to the Personalization section of your Settings and clicking on the Manage button under the Memory subheading:

We will notify you when your storage is full. Once your memory storage is full, new memories will not be created.

You can create more memory storage space by deleting memories. When you clear memories, you can verify your usage reduction in the Personalization section of your Settings above the Manage button.

Does memory function with GPTs?

Memory for GPTs will be available when we roll it out more broadly.When it is, builders can enable their GPTs to have a memory. The end-user will need to have Memory on to engage with the GPT. Please note that ChatGPT and GPTs each have their own unique memories based on your interactions with them. Memory is not shared between GPTs and other GPTs or ChatGPT. Memories, like chats, with GPTs are not shared with GPT builders, but may be included in GPT actions.

Does memory remember sensitive information?

Memory brings additional privacy and safety considerations, such as what type of information should be remembered and how it’s used.

We’re taking steps to assess and mitigate biases, and steer ChatGPT away from proactively remembering sensitive information, like your health details - unless you explicitly ask it to. We are continuing to improve the model’s performance in this regard. You can always review and clear specific memories, as well as provide feedback so we can improve the model’s behavior in this regard.

How long are memories retained for?

The “notepad” of your memories is kept separately from your chat history. This means that even if a chat is over or has been deleted, the memories created during that conversation can still be used in future interactions.

You can have the model forget memories at any time as explained above. If you ask the model to forget a memory, that memory will be removed from the “notepad” and will not be used when responding to conversations moving forward. We may retain a log of forgotten memories for up to 30 days for safety and debugging purposes.

Past conversations may include memories that existed at the time of the conversation. For example, if ChatGPT remembers that you live in San Francisco, ChatGPT’s response to “what should I do this weekend” may begin with “Since you live in San Francisco…” You can instruct ChatGPT to forget that memory at any time, though that does not clear memories that are part of your chat history. You can clear your previous chats to remove memories that are part of those conversations.

Do you train your models with memories?

We may use content that you provide to ChatGPT, including memories, to improve our models for everyone. If you’d like, you can turn this off through your Data Controls. As always, we won't train on content from ChatGPT Team and Enterprise customers.

Did this answer your question?