Deleted chats are hard deleted from our systems within 30 days, unless they have been de-identified and disassociated from your account. If you have not opted out, we may use these de-identified chats for training to improve model performance.
Archived chats are retained just like your unarchived chats. Archiving a chat simply removes it from your chat history sidebar. Archived chats can be found and managed in your ChatGPT Settings.
Delete a chat
You can delete individual chats one at a time from your chat history by clicking on the 3 horizontal dots then in the menu that is displayed click Delete chat:
Archive a chat
You can view archived chats in Settings:
Manage archived chats
Click on Manage to view all archived chats where for each chat you can leave as archived, unarchive, or delete the chat: