ChatGPT is free to use, and can now be accessed before creating an account at chatgpt.com. Simply enter your prompt in the text box to get started.
For general questions about ChatGPT, see: ChatGPT commonly asked questions.
How do I start a new chat?
You can start a new chat by selecting New chat.
If you have an existing chat, your current chat will no longer be accessible once you start a new chat. Chats can only be saved by logging in or creating an account.
Why am I being asked to log in or sign up without being able to send a message?
ChatGPT can be used without an account in supported countries, including in Europe and the UK. Access may vary by location or network, so some users may be asked to log in or sign up before sending a message.
Can I have more than one conversation while logged out?
While logged out, you can only have one conversation at a time.
How can I save a conversation I’ve had? Can I see conversations I’ve had?
You can save a conversation by logging in or creating an account. Once you create an account, the thread to your latest conversation will appear in the sidebar. Other previous conversations cannot be saved.
Please note you will not be able to continue this conversation when you log out.
Why did my conversation disappear?
While logged out, you are not able to save your chat history. Chats will remain accessible only for the current session on the same browser.
What are the benefits of creating an account?
Creating an account unlocks tools that allow you to manage your conversations with ChatGPT, including the ability to save your chat history and export your ChatGPT data, share your chats, and personalize your experience with custom instructions.
For more information about ChatGPT, see: ChatGPT commonly asked questions.
Use a personally owned email address for personal use
An account is how you sign in; a workspace holds your chats, content, and settings. One account can access multiple workspaces. However, a Personal workspace under your work email is not a separate, personally owned account. Workspaces within one account cannot later be split into separate accounts.
For personal use, we recommend an account with an email address you personally own and control. For work, use a separate account with your work email address. Even if that account only has a Personal workspace, it is still tied to your work email address.
Your employer controls your work email. If you lose access to it when you leave, you will lose access to the affected account, its workspaces, and the data stored there.
When you join an Enterprise workspace with a verified company email address, you may need to merge the Personal workspace associated with that email address or export and delete its data. Merging is permanent: you cannot later separate or restore the original Personal workspace.
Will you use my conversations for training?
Whether chats are used to train our models by default depends on your location and settings. We recommend that you don’t share sensitive information. For information about model improvement, see: how we use data to improve our models.
To opt out, turn off “Improve the model for everyone” under Data controls. Open Settings from the sidebar. This setting is saved in your browser. Check it again if you clear browser data or use another browser or device.
For more information on how we handle data, see: Privacy Policy.
How can I contact support?
To contact OpenAI Support, open the chat bubble at help.openai.com.
