All Collections
ChatGPT
ChatGPT Shared Links FAQ
ChatGPT Shared Links FAQ

Generate a unique URL to be able share a link to one of your ChatGPT conversations

Updated over a week ago

⚠️ The option to continue a conversation from a shared link has been deprecated for users across all plans in ChatGPT.

What are shared links?

Shared links are a new feature that allow users to generate a unique URL for a ChatGPT conversation, which can then be shared with friends, colleagues, and collaborators. Shared links offer a new way for users to share their ChatGPT conversations, replacing the old and burdensome method of sharing screenshots.

Where can I find shared links?

We are turning on shared links for users on a rolling basis. Shared links are currently available only on our website, chat.openai.com. They are not yet available on our iOS app.

Hover over a chat in the threads Header:

and then click on the shared link icon:

What about iOS?

This feature is available to all users in the iOS app.

How do I create a shared link?

Hover over a chat in the threads Header and click on the share link:

You'll be able to preview the conversation snapshot you're about to send:

Then you have the option to share with your name or anonymously by clicking the three dots:

You can share your name by clicking the three dots and just click "Share your name":

Once you click "Share your name" it will appear in the shared link preview:

If you want to not include your name click the three dots again:

Then click "Share anonymously" to remove your name to update the preview to look like this:

When you're ready you can click the green button to copy the link to share it.

How do I update a shared link after it is created?

You can open up the link share modal for that conversation to click the three dots with options to update the name visibility (share your name or make anonymous). There is also the option here to delete the link if needed.

To save you need to click the green button that says "Update and Copy Link".

Are shared links public? Who can access my shared links?

Anyone who has access to a shared link can view the linked conversation. We encourage you not to share any sensitive content, as anyone with the link can access the conversation or share the link with other people.

If you've created a link that you no longer want to be public, you can delete the link or clear the conversation. The conversation will no longer be accessible via the shared link, but if a user imported the conversation into their chat history, deleting your link will not remove the conversation from their chat history.

What information about me is included in the shared link I generate?

By default, shared links will not include your name or any other personal information. You can choose to add your name when creating the link by clicking on the ellipsis in the shared link window, then clicking “Share your name.” If you add your name, it will appear on the page of your shared link at the top of the conversation. Please keep in mind that anyone with the link can view the conversation in a shared link.

How much of my conversation is included in a shared link?

A shared link is a snapshot of that entire conversation up to the point is is being shared. This means if there are many prompts/responses in the conversation all of them will be included.

For example, if I have a conversation with 10 prompts with responses then create a shared link to give out then when the recipient opens up that shared link they will not only see the most recent prompt / response but the entire history of prompts / responses up to that point which the shared link was created.

What are the use cases of shared links?

A. Sharing a specific conversation or message

This is particularly useful when you want to share a specific piece of information or a discussion with someone who is not part of the original conversation. This could be a notable example of a conversation, a specific discussion that needs to be referenced, or an important message that needs to be highlighted.

B. Sharing content with external collaborators

Shared links can be used to share content with people outside of your organization. This is useful when you have collaborators, such as contractors or clients, who need to see specific messages or conversations.

C. Creating a reference point for future discussions

Shared links can be used to create a reference point for future discussions. This can be particularly useful when you want to refer back to a previous conversation or message in the future.

If I delete the original ChatGPT conversation does that delete the shared link?

Yes, if you delete the original ChatGPT conversation, the shared link will also be deleted. This means that the content will no longer be accessible via the shared link.

Please keep in mind that shared links allow viewers to import the conversation into their own chat history, so if you delete a shared link, the conversation will no longer be accessible via the shared link, but if a user imported the conversation into their chat history, the content may still be accessible from their chat history.

Account Deletion; If I delete my account are my shared links deleted?

Yes, if you delete your account, all of your shared links will also be deleted. At that point those shared links will no longer be accessible or viewable by anyone.

Please keep in mind that shared links allow viewers to import the conversation into their own chat history, so if you delete a shared link, the conversation will no longer be accessible via the shared link, but if a user imported the conversation into their chat history, the content may still be accessible from their chat history.

Is there any option to continue the conversation for a shared link?

No, the option to continue a conversation from a shared link has been deprecated for users across all plans in ChatGPT.

Should we expect shared links to show up in public search results on the Internet?

No, shared links are not designed to show up in public search results on the internet. They are intended for direct sharing between individuals and are not indexed by search engines. However, anyone with the link can view the shared content.

Data Export; Are my shared links included when I export my data from ChatGPT?

Yes, shared conversations are included in ChatGPT data export.

How do I limit access / permission to the shared link?

Unfortunately we currently do not have granular permissions for shared links. Anyone who has access to a shared link can view the linked conversation. We encourage you not to share any sensitive content, as anyone with the link can access the conversation or share the link with other people.

How do I set the expiration date for a shared link?

We do not currently offer this functionality. See below for how to delete or disable your shared links.

How do I know a shared link is safe to click / authentically from OpenAI?

The URL for ChatGPT shared links starts with: https://chat.openai.com/share/

Always be cautious before clicking on links and make sure the shared link is coming from a trusted source.

Never click on a suspicious link.

What's the structure of the URL of a shared link?

https://chat.openai.com/share/<conversation-ID> 

How do I report harmful or illegal content in a shared link?

You can report a shared link to us by clicking “Report Content” at the bottom of the link. You will be asked to describe the issue with the content and to identify the nature of your report. You do not need to be signed in to submit content reports.

Where do I access my settings to see my shared links?

In chat.openai.com in the bottom left of the page click on your name to open the menu then click on Settings:

Then in the modal that appears click on Data controls then click Manage for the Shared links setting:

What happens to my shared links after I disable Chat History & Training in my ChatGPT Data controls?

Nothing happens to them and they are not deleted.

Similar to when you have existing conversations in your history, disabling history doesn't delete them, it just hides your history and puts you in basically an incognito mode.

Once you disable Chat History & Training the share button is disabled for conversations.

How do I delete / invalidate a shared link?

1 - You can click the trashcan icon on the conversation itself in chat.openai.com to delete a single chat:

2 - You can also open up the shared link modal and click the three dots then click “Delete link” which will delete the shared link:

3 - There is also a history panel accessible via the settings modal to show all links, and delete all or individual.

Manage your shared links in the settings area click Manage:

This will then display all your shared liniks in a list:

You can delete a shared link to a single conversation - OR - you can also delete all your shared links:

Did this answer your question?